top of page

Part Crime Mystery Part Sci-fi Thriller (6/10)

Updated: May 27, 2019

(CCR Original Content) Hero Mask Review [No Spoilers]

6/10


Hero Mask is a sci-fi action thriller anime series written and directed by Hiroyasu Aoki and animated by Studio Pierrot; with character designs by Takahisa Katagiri and music by Hisaki Kato.


James Blood is an officer for the elite "Special Service of Crime" (SSC) division of the Capital Police Department in London. After Monica Campbell, Crown Prosecutor, suddenly drops dead mysteriously and an enemy James thought dead goes on a rampage at a police station, the SSC begins to investigate. James teams up with Sarah Sinclair, a subordinate of Monica's, to uncover the truth behind who's involved in a ever growing conspiracy including a powerful paramilitary corporation, escaped prisoners who were executed, and masks that give their wearers superhuman abilities.


Hero Mask is in no way a perfect anime, but that didn't stop me from enjoying a lot of what it had to offer. It is full of cliches and might not be the most original but I thought the story telling was great and the way it unfolded over the 15 episodes was done quite well. James Blood is an action hero personified. As I watched I felt like I was watching an actual action thriller. Critics complained about the action being slow but to me it felt more grounded in reality and believable instead of over the top. Also I really liked the way the whole mystery and investigation unfolded piece after piece and how it all came together. The animation was top notch and what originally drew me into viewing it as well as the concept. I wouldn't recommend this to the average anime fan but if you are looking for a crime/mystery plot, then you shouldn't write this one off. I give it a 6/10.




6 views0 comments
bottom of page