top of page

Loki: Non-Spoiler/Spoiler Episode Review - Episode 1: Glorious Purpose - (8/10) -

Updated: Aug 6, 2021

(CCR Original Content) Loki Episode Review - [Spoiler Free Review and Spoiler Section below picture] (8/10)


Loki: is a 2021 Marvel tv series created by Michael Waldron and directed by Kate Herron. It's produced by Marvel Studios with executive producers Kevin Feige, Louis D'Esposito Victoria Alonso, Stephen Broussard, Tom Hiddleston, Kate Herron and Michael Waldron and distributed by Disney Platform Distribution. The series stars Tom Hiddleston, Owen Wilson and Gugu Mbatha-Raw.


During the events of Marvel's Endgame, Loki escaped using the Tesseract when the Avengers went back in time. Many fans wondered what happened to "this" Loki, as the Loki in the present timeline met his demise at the hands of Thanos. Now Marvel let's us know what happened to Loki and the Tesseract in this 6 episode Disney Plus series.


First off, I was super excited for this highly anticipated series since Marvel was finally going to answer the question of "What happened to the "other" Loki?". The third Disney Plus series to be released after Wandavision and The Falcon and The Winter Soldier, Loki brings us more of Tom Hiddleston and the fan favorite character Loki. I have to say this episode didn't disappoint. This episode didn't give away much and if you saw the trailers most of it was from this first episode. Without giving away any spoilers this episode is about Loki finding out who and what the TVA are and what they want with him. It looks like there was a lot of attention to the plot and detail

of the storytelling, although a lot of it was building up what's to come, I think it did an excellent job for setting the vibe and feel of the series and the storyline going forward. I really dug the whole Time Variance Authority and the animation explaining everything. I also really liked Owen Wilson and his character agent Mobius. There was a good mix of humor and emotion but missing a lot of action. For a nearly hour long episode a lot didn't happen and the location didn't change much with most happening in the TVA location. The thing that impressed me the most was the cinematography and how the episode felt like watching a big summer blockbuster movie. What I didn't like was although other characters were hinted at we really only meet Owen Wilson's character and have to wait to see if anyone else will become more important. I don't want to say more than what I already have in a non-spoiler episode review so this is where I'll stop but if you want to know what I thought about it in more detail, check out my spoiler review. I give this episode an 8/10 and the Loki series definitely gets my "Must See Seal of Approval". If you haven't seen this series yet, what are you waiting for. New episodes of Loki premiere every Wednesday on Disney Plus.


Look Below This Picture For Spoiler Section Or Click On Picture For Our YouTube Review

Spoiler Section Review:


So I really dug this episode and thought it was great. It finally answered the lingering questions we all had after watching Endgame and what happened to "Loki" when he escaped the Avengers after grabbing the Tesseract. I won't go over every single thing that happens in the episode but I will tell you what I liked and what I didn't. So I really liked the humor and comedy they have going for them throughout the whole episode. Right from the beginning with the scene of the TVA capturing Loki and Hunter B-15 smacking him in slow-motion and especially the panic on Loki's face as they disintegrate the other "detainee" in the lobby of the TVA. There were also some really great emotional scenes like when Loki sees the future of his timeline and how everyone dies, Freya, Odin, and even himself. I really liked the explanation video on the monitor of the lobby explaining the whole TVA and the whole "why" they were created and what they do. I thought it was a rather cleverly done "info dump". There was some solid acting from Tom Hiddleston and Owen Wilson's character was very interesting as well. As was disappointed in Gugu Mbatha-Raw's character Revonna Renslayer coming out very little but hopefully she plays a bigger part later because she's a great actor. And I especially liked the ending of the episode on how the big reveal is that they need Loki because they are going after a variant of him and the final action of that Loki taking out a squad of TVA agents without breaking a sweat. Can't wait to see the next episode. This show definitely gets my "Must See Seal of Approval" and I give this episode a 8/10.

bottom of page