top of page

Loki: Non-Spoiler/Spoiler Episode Review - Episode 2: The Variant - (7/10) -

Updated: Aug 4, 2021

(CCR Original Content) Loki Episode Review - [Spoiler Free Review and Spoiler Section below picture] (7/10)


Loki: is a 2021 Marvel tv series created by Michael Waldron and directed by Kate Herron. It's produced by Marvel Studios with executive producers Kevin Feige, Louis D'Esposito Victoria Alonso, Stephen Broussard, Tom Hiddleston, Kate Herron and Michael Waldron and distributed by Disney Platform Distribution. The series stars Tom Hiddleston, Owen Wilson and Gugu Mbatha-Raw.


During the events of episode 1 Loki was captured by hunter B-15 of the TVA (Time Variance Authority) and taken to their headquarters where he was judged as guilty by Judge Ravonna Renslayer for disrupting the "sacred timeline". There he meets Agent Mobius who takes custody of him seeking his help to capture a variant version of him who has been able to evade the TVA killing multiple hunters/agents.


This episode was really good but not as great as the first one in my opinion but it was almost just as good. I especially liked the opening interaction of Loki with "Miss Minutes" and I liked how it had more action than the first episode. I just felt that it didn't really answer some of the questions that I had going into it like do the Timekeepers even exist or are they just like entities people believe in but never see. The only question answered for me was the big one which was the reveal of the Loki "variant". So without giving away everything that happens in the episode it looks like Loki has been "hired" by the TVA and is now working for them, or with them. He's been going through some type of new hire training and he even has his own cubicle. What I liked about this episode is the rapport that he builds with Agent Mobius and the interaction between them both. There's some really good acting between Tom Hiddleston and Owen Wilson. I also like that we get to see more of Judge Ravonna Renslayer which I was very happy to see and more of hunter B-15 which I'm glad wasn't limited to just the first episode. We learn a little more about the "inner workings" of how the TVA operates through the material that Loki has been studying and questions they ask him before he can join them in the field on a mission. My favorite part of the episode was probably the "reveal" and the part that I didn't like was the ending because for me it happened too soon. I really can't wait for the next episode already. Anyways, I'll talk more in the spoiler section but I give this episode a 7/10 and Loki continues to get my "Must See Seal of Approval".


Look Below This Picture For Spoiler Section Or Click On Picture For Our YouTube Review

Spoiler Section Review:


So as I said this episode wasn't as good as the first one in my opinion but it was really close. I really liked the way the episode opened up with Miss Minutes teaching Loki about the "inner workings" of the TVA and how they operate. Looked like he was getting training to learn their protocols and things needed to operate in the field for going on missions. I didn't really understand Loki's reasoning for wanting to get an audience with the Timekeepers themselves, as they are supposed to be so powerful that they run the TVA which Loki speculates is the "greatest power" in the universe but maybe he thinks he can charm them the way he often does to others. I also liked how there was more action in this episode. It was awesome how we got to see hunter C-20/Sasha Lane who came out in the trailer. I like her as an actress, and she might be familiar as she came out in Hellboy the reboot and she was crazy as Jessica Hyde in Utopia. For those who don't know who I'm talking about there was a really cool action scene with her when the "variant" Loki bewitched her into attacking and killing her fellow hunters before capturing and taking her hostage. I liked how Loki was the one to come up with the idea that the variant could be hiding in apocalyptic places since nothing done there would alter the timeline and how Agent Mobius believed in him enough to check it out. The way the whole scene or events that happened when they go to 2050 Alabama and what goes on in the Roxxcart building was really cool. My favorite part of the episode was the reveal of the "Variant" Loki being a female version of him. I wish I would have been surprised but the internet is full of people who love to spoil things, so thanks. But what I didn't like was the ending of the episode that had her escaping with Loki following after, leaving us all in the dark for another week about where they are and what happened. To me it looked like all the reset charges she stole had to do with her plan of torturing and finding out where the Timekeepers were located from hunter C-20.

I'm speculating that unlike our "Loki" who wanted an audience with the Timekeepers to somehow gain their trust or steal their power; this "variant" Loki instead wants to destroy them and the TVA. I'm thinking that she sent all those reset charges to where the Timekeepers are located or maybe even back to the TVA like some kind of bomb and we're going to see in the next episode the aftermath of what happened when she did that. As for where Loki and her went, I'm not too sure. I'm thinking it's either going to be another apocalyptic place like how they went to Pompei or it's going to be some place familiar that we've seen before in the Marvel Universe. That's all that I have for theories right now but I can't wait to see the next episode. This show continues to get my "Must See Seal of Approval" and I give this episode a 7/10.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page