top of page

Sweet Tooth: TV Series Review (9/10) - A Lot of Heart and A Great Story, That Lives Up To The Hype -

Updated: Aug 7, 2021

(CCR Original Content) Sweet Tooth Review [Spoiler Free Review and Spoiler Section below picture] (9/10)


Sweet Tooth is a Fantasy Drama series developed by Jim Mickle with directors Toa Fraser, Robyn Grace, and himself. The series was produced by Nightshade, Team Downey, DC Entertainment and Warner Bros. Television with producers Evan Moore, Mel Turner, and Christina Ham. Executive producers on the show include Robert Downey Jr. and his wife, Susan Downey, Amanda Burrell, Linda Moran and Beth Schwartz. The series stars Nonso Anozie, Christian Convery, Adeel Ahktar, Stefania LaVie Owen, Dania Ramirez, Will Forte and Josh Brolin. The show is based on the DC comic book written and drawn by Jeff Lemire.


Sweet Tooth takes place in a post apocalyptic world that has been ravaged by a new virus called the "sick" and after an event called the "great crumble". This occurred 10 years ago about the same time another mysterious event happened. Animal/human hybrid babies began being born instead of regular babies. Richard Fox, a man living alone in the wilderness with his half-deer hybrid child Gus, fears that humans may think hybrids caused the virus and hunt them. He teaches Gus in his own way lots of things like how to read and write and also to never go outside the fence of where they live.


Sweet Tooth is an awesome show. I was pretty excited for this show when I saw the trailer and what it was going to be about. That's because shows and cartoons that have to do with anthropomorphic animal people have a special place in my heart. I think it's because of my love of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles growing up and also because of all the Disney cartoons with talking animals I watched as a kid. Anyways, I really dug this show and thought that it was excellent. I though the casting was pretty spot on for what they were trying to go with and there was some really good acting in this series. I for one, couldn't really see Will Forte as a father before this movie, but he did such a great job as Pubba/Richard Fox Gus's father. I also liked Adeel Akhtar who played Dr. Singh. His performance was really good and I liked his character more than I thought I would. He brought a lot of emotion to his character and his facial expressions really said a lot without having to say it in words. The cinematography was excellent, and there were a lot of this epic shots. Some of the ones I remember the most are these ones from the beginning of episodes showing the scenery like the forest and mountains and others of the cities and just ones where they were really zoomed out showing how big the world is. The plot for me was very interesting because of the whole mystery to it and it being two-fold with the mystery of the virus and then the one of the hybrids. There was the whole speculation on whether the two were related or not and what they had to do with each other if anything. I also liked how even though Gus is the main character, the plot turned into three main storylines following the characters of Gus, Dr. Singh and then Aimee Eden/Dania Ramirez. Aimee Eden is a lady who takes in abandoned hybrids to her sanctuary/orphanage that she creates. I love Dania Ramirez as an actress and you've probably seen her in the shows and movies she's been in like one of my all time favorites, the show Heroes and movies like X-Men: Last Stand, Premium Rush and American Reunion. The soundtrack for the show was really good and very fitting in setting the mood and there were a couple of good songs that stuck out for me like the songs "Dirty Paws" by Of Monsters and Men and "Dancing in the Moonlight" by King Harvest. It seems like the show has a few different themes and they are pretty powerful and universal. One of them is how society shows prejudice, hatred, and fear to those who are different. The series has a generally good atmosphere and mood but I like how the vibe changes in key moments and they do a good job of setting tension in certain spots like when the man approaches the fence near Gus' home in the first episode. The special effects and CGI were decent but nothing spectacular in my opinion from what I remember. There were a couple that could have been better but nothing terribly horrible. The dialogue seemed pretty natural and nothing that stuck out as unusual or something that seemed better on paper or unnatural being said for most of the characters. It was rated TV-14 so for a show that had some mature themes it kind of shies away from the more extreme actions of the plot which I know some people will criticize but I thought it had enough things going on action wise and didn't need to be overly violent or graphic. That being said, I've never read the comic and don't know how it compares to the source material. I thought the editing was rather good and the scenes transitioned well. I especially liked the narration that comes out in the episodes which took me until the end of the season to find out it was actually the voice of Josh Brolin. The pacing was good as well and I liked the way this show places the flashbacks and scenes of the past while still going forward plot wise in the story. I have to say that my favorite character so far is probably the girl called Bear. She's really interesting and has a really cool introduction to the show when she appears. Well that's going to do it for this review, Sweet Tooth is a an awesome show and I give it a 9/10 and it definitely gets my "Must See Seal of Approval". It's on Netflix, so if you haven't seen it yet, you need to give this show a watch.


Look Below This Picture For Spoiler Section Or Click On Picture For Our YouTube Review

Spoiler Section Review:


So I can't say enough how awesome this show is and how much I liked watching it. I was really excited when I first saw the trailer for it and glad that it didn't turn out to be a disappointment. I was interested from the beginning with just the concept of it having animal human hybrids as characters and then the whole post apocalyptic background to it also seemed really intriguing. I was also hoping it would be cool because it was based on a DC comic book and usually movies or shows based on books are generally better than one that aren't. Like I said in the non-spoiler section I love movies and shows with anthropomorphic characters. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles was one of my favorite cartoons growing up as a kid and I think watching that and all the Disney movies with talking animals are a big reason for that. So first off, I thought they did a good job with the casting and the actors they picked for this show and their roles. I don't know how it compares to the comic because I never read it but hopefully the choices they made don't put people off from watching because it really is a good show. I was especially surprised with Will Forte and his character of Pubba/Richard Fox, Gus' father. I couldn't see this guy as a father before this role but I think he did an excellent job. There's some really solid acting from Adeel Ahktar who plays Dr. Singh who goes through so much in the series. His facial expressions show so much emotion when his character is in the hospital during everything that happens in the beginning and with everything he's dealing with his wife being sick all the way to the hard choices it looks like he's having to make trying to find a cure for the virus. Dania Ramirez who plays Aimee Eden does a great job with portraying a loving mother to her adoptive daughter "Pigtail" (Wendy" who is a pig hybrid and how she raises her as her own. The series had really good cinematography and a nice look to it. It had some really grandiose shots of the scenery and these zoomed out shots that were probably done with drones or something because of how far off they zoomed out but they really showed off the environment in the scenes where they are showing the mountains and stuff and when the characters travel. The plot or story is really cool because it has the mystery of the virus and the hybrids and then it follows what I believe are the three main characters which are Gus, Dr. Singh and Aimee Eden. So it goes back and forth between the characters and flashbacks of the past and is really able to tell a unique story of who they are, what's going on and how they got here over the course of 9 episodes where you learn a little more each episode you watch. The story also has a lot of heart and emotion and makes you really care for the characters. I got so attached in the first episode to Will Forte's character that it broke my heart for him and for Gus when he gets sick. Also the times where Gus gets angry and takes it out on his stuffed animal "Dog" that his father made for him. And the episode of "When Pubba met Birdie" just really pulls on your heartstrings as you learn about how Gus' parents met. As I said in the non-spoiler review the special effects and CGI weren't spectacular but they weren't terrible either. I didn't really like a lot of the CGI deer or the CGI Tiger that came out but the scenes where they showed the destroyed landscape and cityscapes were decent. I also didn't like one scene where to me it looked liked they switched between animatronic or practical effects for the character Bobby and then went to CGI and then back again. I didn't have anything to complain about when it came to dialogue, and the music was excellent. One observation that was brought to my attention is that it didn't really have a lot of violence and wasn't too graphic. This makes sense in my opinion because of it's rating being TV-14 but it also conflicts with the subject matter of the story it's trying to tell, since it involves post apocalyptic setting where people fight and kill over supplies, dealing with virus and disease, and where people are actively hunting the hybrids to kill or experiment on them. I think they did a good job with how they made it and the vibe and mood the show has, especially Gus with his overly positive attitude but who knows maybe that will change as the show progresses. I know even at the end of the last episode when things seemed like there were at their darkest there was still an overwhelming feeling of hope knowing that "Big Man" was still alive and for Gus even though he was captured to now be with more of his kind. One of my favorite characters was the girl called "Bear", who's the leader of the "Animal Army" and protects hybrids at all costs. I thought how they had their whole setup was really cool and I wound up liking her more than I thought I was. I know for a spoiler section review I didn't really give up that many spoilers but if anybody wants to talk more about the show, just drop a line in the comments section and I'll be more than happy to reply. This is a show that I don't mind having a few conversations about. Anyways I give Sweet Tooth a 9/10 and it gets my "Must See Seal of Approval"

bottom of page